Warooka Primary School
The first official school in the area commenced at James Murdock’s house, Point Turton. A ‘public’ school in the Wesleyan Chapel (Warooka Uniting Church) was commenced by Eliza Parkins in the middle of 1879, although not officially recognised by the Council of Education until the end of the same year. 31 children were enrolled at the time. The stone building here was completed late in 1882 and was ready for use in 1883. The students marched to their new school with their head teacher, Mr. Cunningham. From 1892 the head teacher was helped by monitors, paid and unpaid, who were only 13 years old. Monitors were used until 1926, after this the junior teacher’s position was introduced.
The Hannay Prize – unique to Warooka.
The Hannay prize was first awarded to a student of Warooka School in 1939. J. Frederich Johnson gave this award in memory of his late grandmother, Rosetta French Hannay, (daughter of George Fife Angas) and grandfather, Reverend John Hannay. Prior to Warooka becoming a township, the Johnson family managed the large parcel of land known as Orrie Cowie Station. The Angas and Johnson families had a strong tradition of integrity, religious faith, service to the community and respect for learning. Thus, it was a fitting gesture when the family departed from the Warooka district to leave this memorial to link their belief in learning for the future.